solutionapi.blogg.se

Prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite
Prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite









  1. #PREVENT ICLOUD FROM ASKING FOR A PASSWORD IN MAC OSX YOSEMITE UPDATE#
  2. #PREVENT ICLOUD FROM ASKING FOR A PASSWORD IN MAC OSX YOSEMITE BLUETOOTH#

defaults write /Library/Preferences/ \ĭisabledPreferencePanes -array-add ''

prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite

#PREVENT ICLOUD FROM ASKING FOR A PASSWORD IN MAC OSX YOSEMITE BLUETOOTH#

Then, later if I get a request to also disable the Bluetooth preference pane I can simply send out the following one liner script and have it add Bluetooth to the disabled list. The script contents are : defaults write /Library/Preferences/ \ĭisabledPreferencePanes -array-add ''ĭefaults write /Library/Preferences/ \ĭisabledPreferencePanes -array-add '' Which I find limiting for my environment. In my case, instead of applying a base configuration profile to disable iCloud and Profiles. The defaults command is cfprefsd savvy so there are no issues with using that, its only when we have to re-enable a disabled preference pane that things get awkward. I say can because there is a caveat with 10.9 and 10.10 that you should already be aware of, the infamous cfprefsd. So what is the answer? Well Config Profiles are just plists, so we can apply them from the command line. But this gets hard to manage and remember pretty quick when at scale.īecause I’m lazy, and a lazy sys admin is a good sys admin right? I would rather just take a request from a user/admin/tech to lock down $X preference pane and apply that to the requested machines, rather than investigate to see what other panes are already locked down and include them in my new configuration profile for that machine – yes thats probably the better option. Of course I could include these in my new config profile so that it includes all three. Then I loose the disabling of iCloud and Profiles. So if I were to push a new configuration profile to my special machines requesting that the Bluetooth preference pane by disabled ie. So if you are managing a `` which in this case is `DisabledPreferencePanes` then the newer configuration profile takes over. Unfortunately Configuration Profiles don’t do this kind of compositing. In the old days of MCX and Workgroup Manager, I would simply apply another MCX setting to these machines at a group level or computer level, MCX on the client would then composite all these settings and apply all of the valid payloads to make one big honking MCX payload. But sometimes I have some “special” machines that require even further lockdown. Usually installing that profile on your machines is enough. Its pretty trivial to do this with a configuration profile and using the following payload: DisabledPreferencePanesĬom.

#PREVENT ICLOUD FROM ASKING FOR A PASSWORD IN MAC OSX YOSEMITE UPDATE#

iCloud should update all your devices with the information from the “master” device.When managing systems, there is often a need or desire to disable certain system preference panes to avoid users making configuration errors or enabling services that we as admins would rather they didn’t.įor most of my environments in education with shared machines the big two preference panes that I disable are iCloud and Profiles. Regrettably there’s no way to edit out this kind of thing in iCloud Keychain-where you can dictate “Sync this one, but not that one.” But hope isn’t entirely lost.Īs I recently suggested, you can often put iCloud Keychain to rights by switching it off on every device associated with it, locating the device that has just the information you want synced, configuring iCloud on that device, enabling iCloud Keychain on that device, and then enabling it on your other devices. When you then set up Yosemite and enabled iCloud Keychain on your Mac, iCloud-thinking it was doing you a favor-added those old accounts.

prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite

When you enabled iCloud Keychain on that device, it made note of these accounts.

prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite

At one time you added these accounts to another device you own. I didn’t add them when I first set up Yosemite. Since I upgraded to Yosemite, the Mail app has started asking for passwords for accounts that I no longer use. Reader Carrie Lane finds her Mac populated with old email accounts.











Prevent icloud from asking for a password in mac osx yosemite